How to Work with Deal History and Comments

Available with the Lite plan and above, as well as during the 7-day free trial

When working in sales or project management, you need to track a multitude of deals and interact with your team. To build your workflows effectively, you can view deal history, leave comments, and attach documents to discuss them with the team.

Let's talk about how to send and view comments and see your deal history.

How to Work with Comments

Comments are a tool that helps you communicate with your team members more effectively, share information and reviews, store data, and solve issues.

Leave a Comment

To leave a comment, go to a deal card, and type in a message in the “Notes” field. You can enter up to 5,000 characters, mention a team member, and attach files.

Using the Enter key, you can move a text to another line and add a paragraph. Once you type in your comment, click Send.

For example, managers can add new order or customer data, clarify certain details with other team members, or note the reasons for delays.

Mention Team Members

To notify a team member about a comment, type in the @ symbol, and select a person.

The selected manager will receive a notification and, by clicking it, will be able to go directly to the deal and respond to the comment.

Attach Files

To add files to a comment, click the folder icon. Select a file from your storage, or upload a new file from your device.

All services share the same file storage. You can add a file of any extension except executable.

The maximum file size the free plan allows is 200 MB. Your file storage capacity is not defined by services but is set based on the storage capacity of the largest pricing plan among all services. To increase your storage capacity, upgrade your pricing plan. Read more: How to Work with the File Manager.

Once you upload your files, they will be available to all team members who have access to the deal.

View Comments

You can also view the entire history of communication between colleagues and quickly find the necessary documents with deal data.

Under the "Notes" field, you will see your deal history. To view only comments, click Comments only.

If a comment is too big, click Show more to expand it.

In history, you can't delete events, but you can delete irrelevant comments to focus on the most important information. To do this, click the three dots icon next to a comment, and select "Delete."

How to Work with Deal History

Deal history allows you to view all the deal events that have occurred to track all the changes and steps in their execution. The history shows the deal event date and name, assignee, and corresponding pipeline data.

To view the history of a deal, open its deal card, and click All history if you have hidden it.

Let’s go over the events that can be shown in your deal history.

Creating or deleting a deal Shows that a deal was created or deleted.
Adding, changing, or removing an assignee Shows the added or removed team member.
Changing the status of a deal or pipeline Shows the new and old deal status or the pipeline to which the deal was moved.
Receiving a new, successful, or unsuccessful payment and changing the payment status Shows the contact who paid the payment amount specified in the deal.
Read more: Payments.
Adding, changing, or deleting the deal payment amount Shows the old and new deal payment amount.
Adding related contacts and tasks Shows the contact added to the deal (and vice versa) and the task added to the deal (and vice versa).
Completing a deal with the "Successful" or "Unsuccessful" status Shows the completed deal and the selected status.
Completed deals are saved to the "Completed deals" section.
    Rate this article about "How to Work with Deal History and Comments"

    User Rating: 5 / 5

    Previous

    How to Work with Deals

    Next

    Sources of Automatically Added Deals and Contacts

    Popular in Our Blog

    Try SendPulse today for free